Hong Kong, May 20 (Xinhua) - The presentation ceremony of the Annual Shaw Award for 2020 was held online on Thursday, with six scientists congratulated for their prominent work In the prize. Three categories of astronomy, science of life and medicine, and mathematical sciences.

The SHAW Shaw Foundation of Hong Kong, announced the list of 2020 laureats in May of last year. The six scientists are from the United States, Great Britain, Germany and Israel. Due to the Covid-19 pandemic, the award ceremony originally scheduled for September 2020 was canceled.

Executive Director of the Special Administrative Region of Hong Kong (HSAR) Carrie Lam delivered a voice video at the virtual allocation ceremony on Thursday.

In her speech, Lam noted that the Covid-19 pandemia emphasized the number of people who have scientists. Search for excellence. A case at the point is the rapid development of the effective vaccines of Covid-19, giving people who expect to overcome the pandemic.

LAM said the five-year plan of China's 14th National Year showed the support of the central government to HKSAR will develop an International Center for Innovation and Technology, which CREE which is a strong recognition of Hong Kong's strengths, particularly in basic research, and synergy in innovation and technology that is evident in Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area.

"We will not avoid efforts to take advantage of these opportunities and one of the key initiatives is the global scheme of the Chair of STEM that will be launched later this year. By offering a Chair and a well-financed research support, the scheme aims to recruit scientists abroad and continental to get to work in Hong Kong, "he said.

For the 2020 Award Shaw, the astronomy category went to Roger d BLA NDFORD at the University of Stanford, United States, for its fundamental contributions to theoretical astrophysics, Especially in relation to the fundamental understanding of the active galactic nuclei, the formation and collimation of the relativistic jets, the energy extraction mechanism of the black holes and the acceleration of particles in the shocks. and the relevant radiation mechanisms of it.

The Life Science and Medicine Award was granted on equal shares to Gero Mieenbock from the University of Oxford, Great Britain, Peter Hegemann of the Humboldt University of The University of Humboldt Berlin, Germany and Georg Nagel of the University of Wurzburg, Germany. They were lit by their achievements in the development of oprogenetics, a technology that has revolutionized neuroscience.

The Mathematical Science Award was awarded in actions equal to Alexander Beilinson of the University. of Chicago, the United States, and David Kazhdan, from the Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel. They were lit by their enormous influence and profound contributions to the theory of representation, as well as many other areas of mathematics.

Established under Shaw Execution Auspices In November 2002, the Shaw Award is an international award to honor individuals who have achieved significant progress in research or applications Academics and scientists, and whose work has resulted in a positive and profound impact on humanity. Each prize has a monetary award of 1.2 million US dollars. UU Enditem


Image of How to find a teaching job in Universities in China
Rate and Comment
Image of 
                    WHO boss: I can't help my starving Tigrayan family
WHO boss: I can't help my starving Tigrayan family

War of ethiopia tigray: tedros ghebreyesus unable to send money to 'hungry' family By Cecilia Macaulay & Kalkidan Yibeltalbbc News, London and Addi

Read more →




Already have an account? Login here

contact us


Add Job Alert